Darkness, black as ink, arrives

leaving me alone with my thoughts

sole inhibitor of an island of memories.

 

Memories full of “what ifs” and excruciating longing

for a life too soon ended; I grieve.

A jagged sword of power painfully shoots through me

draining me of feeling.  Overcome with emptiness; void of emotion; I close my eyes

trying to block out heartache’s slow approach.

My attempts futile; my mind races on

I receive no reprieve; rest from my thoughts unobtainable

they gnaw at me bit by bit

leaving in their wake a hollow shell

forming a shadow; that now comprises the person

I have become.  Reminants remain, a glimmer of the past, that defined my previous self.

Knowledge dawns; I cannot become whole again;

memories can’t be recreated, erased;

thoughts can’t be silenced.

Changed forever, they created the person before you.

 

Night shadows lengthen dawn approaches;

a sigh of relief escapes my lips; realization that I 

endured another lonely night dawns.

One day strength will allow me to escape the lonely island of thoughts I’m stranded on; renewed for now I rise greeting the first rays of daylight.

 

 

