image

This NaBloPoMo prompt was easy to answer.  My first friend I met on the first day of kindergarten.  We became best friends instantly and today 30+ years later, we are still best friends. She is the sister I never had and over the years, our friendship formed into more than just a friendship, she became my sister in a matter of speaking.  We have supported each other through the tough times in life, and been each other’s biggest cheerleader for the good things that came along.  When we each got married we stood beside each other as the maid/matron of honor.  No matter how much time passes between visits together, when we see each other it’s as if no time has passed at all.  We pick up right where we left off in our lives.  So I’m still the best of friends with the first little girl that I met back in kindergarten when I walked up and simply said “Hi, my name is Jennifer! Do you want to be my friend?” Just as my mother had suggested I do when I was worried about making new friends.  The rest, dear followers is friendship history.  The story of making my first friend remains unfinished, since we continue to write it to this day!

Posted from WordPress for Android

