image

You know you’ve all done it! You see a fountain resplendent with light illuminated by the sun and it lures you over.  Glancing along the bottom of this fabulous source of water, you see glinting pennies lining the bottom, representing wishes of those that had lingered beside this same fountain.  Here they stood eyes squeezed shut, heart filled with hope, and tossed their penny or two gleefully into the fountain hoping that their wish would be heard, causing their secret desires to become reality. 

As a smile plays across my lips I reach into my pocket, producing two shiny pennies. Much like those before me I squeeze my eyes shut, pause, taking a moment to languish in the hope of  wishes coming true, then open my eyes and send my two pennies sailing through the air.  They land in the fountain with a satisfying plunk, immersing themselves in the watery depths, co-mingling with all the other hopes and wishes.  I turn, walking away with a light heart.  What was it that I wished for you may be wondering?  That wish is between me and those two pennies! 🙂

Daily Post Daily Prompt

Posted from WordPress for Android

